Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people argue for more public expenditure on measures to prevent illness by promoting a healthy lifestyle. While this would certainly result in benefits to public health, I disagree with the idea that this should be a higher priority than the treatment of people who are already suffering from illness.

The promotion of a healthy lifestyle to prevent illness is undoubtedly a worthy aim of any government. The sedentary routines of many people make them more prone to the risk of diabetes or heart disease as a result of their inactivity. In modern life, people are so caught up in the pressures of work or study that they neglect the importance of keeping fit. Dependence on the car exacerbates the problem of lack of exercise. Thus, government provision of affordable leisure and sports facilities, coupled with promotion campaigns to keep fit and healthy would certainly be a worthwhile initiative to raise the general level of public health.

However, in the process of decision-making on health matters, I would argue that expenditure should be allocated first to the treatment of people who are ill. Firstly, not all illnesses are the result of unhealthy lifestyle choices by individuals. For example, respiratory disorders are affected by air pollution in cities, while poor sanitation and contaminated drinking water contribute to outbreaks of dysentery and cholera. Secondly, failure to subsidise medicines or to invest in hospitals would certainly lead to many deaths which could have been avoided by timely treatment. Hospitals, for instance, have many roles in providing treatment, not only surgery but also in conducting vital research into the treatment of many life-threatening conditions, such as cancer or asthma.

In conclusion, while promoting healthy living is important, treatment must have priority in health service spending.