Some people think that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than of the other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that the role of regional literature is more important than that of international literature remains a source of controversy. While I accept that domestic literature has many merits, downsides of this viewpoint cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, studying the literature of children’s hometown is definitely an indispensable part of school’s curriculum during their early education. When young students have a thorough insight into their regional culture, they will make unremitting effort to preserve cultural identity of their country. “Su tich banh chung banh day” is a case in point. This folk tale helps children to know about the name of two types of cakes and why Vietnamese usually eat them in Tet holiday. Additionally, thanks to novels and poems written about aggressive war, students develop their patriotism. When children know about a process that their ancestors fought against outside intruders to defend their territory and reclaim sovereignty, they will be proud of their national heroes and treasure their current life.

On the other hand, learning about world literature shares equal importance just as local literature. Students who are taught about world literature will have in-depth knowledge about cultural and traditional values of different parts of the world. As a result, they will avoid cultural shock when they go study or travel abroad. Especially, having a profound comprehension of international culture will help young children have a golden selling point to work for foreign enterprises. Furthermore, children who learn both local and foreign literatures will enhance problem-solving skills. This is simply because they will be able to think different perspectives of the problem before making the best decision.

In conclusion, I believe that the domestic literature is as important as the international literature because it helps children have a well-rounded knowledge about not only their nation but also around the world.