Some people think it is not necessary for adults to receive education in class. Self-study is a good way for them to study more effectively. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that lifelong study is promoted in this day and age. However, people have different opinions on the methods of adult education. I totally agree with the idea that it is enough for adults to receive education through self-study instead of having classes.

Adults unlike teenagers do not have a large amount of time and energy to devote to professional courses. This is because work and family have already taken up most of their time and energy, and meanwhile, receiving education in class requires specific time and great effort. For instance, many Chinese employees have to work at least eight hours a day, before taking care of their children at night. As a result, they could become exhausted and even fall asleep if they had night classes on a daily basis. In contrast, studying by themselves allows them to arrange their timetable efficiently, and thus learn more efficiently.

Furthermore, seniors have already been motivated strongly. In other words, most adults pursue further education for future career rather than rote learning. In this way, they are aware of what they are fighting for, and self-study gives them the opportunity to study whatever they want. However, if these adults enroll in universities and have courses, they may be unable to figure out the specialization they are looking for. Although the university curriculum may be more systematic, in today’s information age, any knowledge could be found on the internet.

In conclusion, as a result of timesaving and specialization, I believe that it is better for adults to study by themselves instead of signing up for courses in the class.