Some people think secondary school should have a class of international news. Others believe it is not necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed a growing demand of learning international news as a result of globalization, and therefore some believe people should be exposed to this in an early age, such as starting an international news course in secondary schools. However, others do not agree with this idea and I am prone to the latter.

On one hand, some insist secondary schools should have international news courses in the benefit of broadening horizons and getting more job opportunities in the future. Living in a globalized world, young students could know better about what happens in the world and how that is connected with us through learning international news academically. For example, learning global warming thoroughly could raise students’ awareness of protecting the environment. In this way, students can learn more apart from knowledge in textbooks. Secondly, national cooperation between companies are becoming increasingly common, only by learning about international news from an early stage, can these future generations have the ability to handle global problems in their future workplaces.

On the other hand, others think arranging a class of international news is unnecessary as a result of its inevitablity and curriculum design in schools. In this day and age, we have various access to learn about international news, such as internet and newspaper, and thus these alternative ways have already provided young teenagers with enough knowledge. Secondly, secondary school students have great pressure from core subjects like Math and English. Adding a class of international news would put more stress on theses students.

In my opinion, there is no denying that knowing about international issues is pretty important for secondary school students, but this can be achieved by surfing and reading newspaper instead of starting an international news class,which is a waste of their precious school time. Besides, I also think learning things globally probably diverse students’ attention and lead to their panic as most international news are negative such as earthquake or terrorist attack.