Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

On special sporting occasions, that nations voluntarily hold accountable for organizing related events has become a publicly recognized phenomenon. While some people are convinced that expenditure should be cut to prioritize other significant aspects, I would argue that hosting sporting festivals will bring both advertising and commercial benefits to countries.

On the one hand, placing too much emphasis on sports can lead to a waste of money. There is no denying that, compared to sporting events, education, healthcare services and transportation are higher on agenda. Therefore allocating resources to construct stadiums, renovate infrastructure and update sports facilities are an unnecessary investment, especially when these improvements are only used on specific sporting occasions. In addition, enhancing sports facilities to fulfil the needs of sports teams can result in curbing public spending on other fields which are worth prioritizing expenditure on. Therefore, national authorities should be careful when making decision to host sporting events as they could have adverse effects on citizens who are in higher need of government subsidies.

On the other hand, becoming host nations on sports occasions certainly opens new opportunities in both advertising and commercial ways. In terms of advertising impact, hosting worldwide events definitely gives nations chances to become the centre of attention on social appliances, newspapers and other media which are good means of promoting their public images. Additionally, organizing sporting events definitely do wonders for host nations’ finance. For example, World Cup 2018 held in Russia has been proven to generate huge profits in terms of accommodations and customer services. These activities are surely boosters for national economy and a source of foreign money.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to host countries in worldwide sporting events, it seems to me that those countries can gain more benefits with regard to economy and public images.