The old tradition of a family having a meal together is disappearing. Why do you think this is happening? How does it affect individuals and the community?

In contemporary world, that family meals are vanishing has becoming a publicly discernible phenomenon. There are myriad reasons for the emergence of this issue and that it has resulted in several serious consequences.

There are two main causes which can be attributed to this phenomenon. Firstly, while technological innovations have tremendously revolutionised our daily life, they also exert adverse effects on our interaction and communication. It is very common in several families that instead of having meals together, family members hold onto their own mobile devices, tablets, leading to the disappearance of togetherness. Secondly, due to increasing economic developments. young generations show a propensity for allocating more time at workplaces than at home, resulting in less quality meals with families. For instance, in Japan, working overtime has become a common feature which obviously requires employees to devote to working rather than eating with their families.

Resulted from those above-mentioned complex causes, some notable problems can be seen in both individuals and the whole society. It is visible that fewer meals together will lead to the downfall of communication among family members. This breakdown in interaction can easily result in a loss of family bonds, deteriorating families as a source of mental support. As a result, mental illnesses such as anxiety, depression from which people severely suffer will gain increasing popularity in the long-term period. In addition, the community which lacks social connection established by enjoying meals together may result in the gap among people and this phenomenon will definitely create social unrest, having devastating effects on each person.

In conclusion, owing to technological breakthroughs and fast-paced lifestyle, that the joy of enjoying meals together is disappearing will definitely have negative effects on the whole society.