Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Major worldwide sporting events, such as Olympic, world cup or Euro, regularly attract immense attention from people throughout the world. Consequently, countries in which those events are held shall have an opportunity to be set in hotline of the world. This attraction either involves in reputation or economy due to increasing investments, the number of tourists and national position. People, however, doubt that spending money on hosting big sporting events is an effective investment and believe that that amount of money should be used for other things. Personally, I refute that hosting large sporting events generates striking, positive influence on a country.

It can not be denied that plus points, for example, boosting manufacturing industry or mitigating unemployment ratio, a country possibly manage by holding a large sporting event in terms of economy. Sporting festivals are often accompanied by tourists, those who come to the country for traveling, as well as being audiences. As a result, food and beverage companies have to create new ideas for their products and develop their productivity in order to increase sales. Furthermore, the infrastructure of cities holding that event needs to be renovated and reconstructed with the aim of qualifying demands from organizers. Therefore, the infrastructure system of the city will be changed positively and citizens will take the advantages from those activities because cities’ amenities have been improved. By building or repairing construction, there is a pressing need of human resources, eventually, more jobs are going to be produced for local people.

On the other hand, those foreseeable merits are still in the short term. Firstly, the money Government spends on developing infrastructure should be a profitable and long-term investment. Nonetheless, the fact that numerous costly sporting buildings are abandoned after being served. Nest Stadium, Beijing Olympic 2008, for instance, used to considered as China’s symbol because of its unique structure and over-priced building fee. At the present time, it is only used for small sporting competitions which do not make considerable benefits, compared to its first investment. This result is virtually the same as employing situation when the created jobs do not stable enough for people to make a living. Thus, after the end of events, hundreds of people return unemployed. Finally, social security will be also affected as a result of raising crimes such as burglary, prostitute, and drugs. These are apparent and undeniable pieces of evidence indicating that money was not used correctly to bring long-term benefits.

To conclude, the downsides are much more than the plus points coming from hosting sporting events. Thus, it is crucial to consider carefully pros and cons in advance when a country decides to host a big event.