Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is disputed that whether money is squanderred to hold huge sport competitions, or the events have positive implications on the host nation. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the argument, and explain why the gains would overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the country organizing the events in many dimensions. Large sport festivals open up opportunities for nations to promote their national images to the world. The major undertaking not only renders the host regconizable to the rest of the planet, but fosters their soft power which facilitates their economic, cultural, social cooperations globally. Another advantage of holding international sporting events is that it spurs national sports development. Appearance of renowned athletes such as Messi, Ussan Bolt in would lure milions of audience to sport competitions, who can be potential buyers of a plethora of offerings. The beneficiaries including manufacturers, retailers and media moguls, those entities therefore may allot billion dollars to sponsor for the major events which in turn can be diverted to further progression of sports in general.

On the other hand, there are dark sides of organizing major sport events. The first issue is that the host nation has to bear prodigous expense including new constructions, and refurbishment of available facilities and infrastructures. Despite the huge allocation of resources in advance, it is uncertain that the authorities are able to reap the benefits from the economic bet. It is not uncommon that the colossal cost of holding such events leaves nations mired down in debt afterwards. Additionally, the influx of foreign visitors may disturb the rhythem of local everyday life. Anomalous beliefs, exotic culture, and unfamiliar lifestyle coming along with the outsiders may appear foreign to the native, placing the foreigners at odds with local citizens. This acts as a predecessor for unwanted hostility between local and overseas spectators.

In sum, the outcome of spending money on sport events is unclear and the events would disrupt the ambiance. However, the organizers are given great chance to build up reputation and encourage domestic sports advancement.