Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Over the past decades, there is a contentious issue on whether we should encourage children to stay close with pets, albeit at the cost of children vulnerability. While there are some sophistication on this controversy, the reasons of congregating children and pets remains compelling. The aim of this essay is set to review both viewpoints and explain the reasons behind this incentive.

To begin with, there is ample evidence suggested that keeping pets with children is perceived as a typical lesson in cultivation, as well as life enrichment. In fact, apart from learning the pet language through daily interactions, children are likely to accustom to empathy and compassion by caring and feeding their beloved pets. Recent empirical psychological tests conducted by the Pet Society ascertain that adults who lived with their pets in childhood are more likely to participate in life-saving professions entailing medical sectors and rescue teams. Consistent with this line of thinking, this habit can help fostering mental growth by shaping one’s conscience.

Although the benefits of being a junior pet owner is remarkable, such impacts should not be overstated, especially the potential detrimental effects begot by the intrinsic behaviours of pets. What this means is the fact that pets like dogs have an innate disposition of playing and rolling in dirt containing countless infection factors, while the sharp claws cats endowed with could hurt their owners. Extensive studies from the Medical University established that 30% pet owners have been hurt or infected by pets in the last year. Seen in this light, it is essential to retain cautions on interacting with these animals. Yet, coupled with these challenges, children have a high tendency to acquire the skill of self-protection, and thus intensify their physical abilities.

In conclusion, both advantages and disadvantages coexist on becoming a junior pet owner; however, both sides constitute stimulus in one’s personal development. It is predicted that more children will become auspicious pet trainers in foreseeable future.