Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that family still remains very important.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While parents play an important role during their child's development, some people believe that some external factors influence the children to a larger extent. This essay will examine both sides of the argument.

There are indeed factors external to the family that affect a child's behaviour during their development such as the internet, television and friends. These days, children are provided with more access to the internet. With just one click, they can see everything that is happening around them, whether it is good or bad. Moreover, they try to imitate their friends whom they admire the most. It might sometimes be a positive impact, but it could also be negative such as taking drugs and smoking.

Ultimately, it is, however, the family who have the most important impact. This is because, children spend most of the time with their family members during their development. They develop social skills, confidence, moral values through their itercation with them. For example, children from dysfunctional home often face problems, whilst children from a warm and loving environment seem to be very calm most of the time.

To conclude, the family has a major role during the growth of a child. Although external factors seem to impact the child's behaviour, it is, however, the family which plays a vital role in moulding the child's behaviour.