Some people think that the main factors influencing a child's development these days are things such as television, friends and music. Other believe that the family still remains more important

It is socially believed that, the greatest influence on childhood developmental milestone is due to peers they interact with or entertainment media, while some still base on family upbringing. This essay agrees that family plays a crucial role in nurturing a child. The importance of family and positive traits which it reinforces, as well as, socialization of the young ones will be discussed in this essay.

The family tree is an important aspect in every child's life. Parents or guardian play a huge role in the child's upbringing, from the day a child is born. Babies are good observers of their surrounding, such as, how people interact and communicate with each other. They understand things that are acceptable to the family in the long run. For example, when i was growing up, my mother taught me to great anyone older than me and offer respect. I still have those attributes, as people from other backgrounds get amazed by my behaviour and they emalute me.

However, media and peers might contribute to the child's overall character, if parenteral guidance is not instituted. Children relate to their environment. Their behaviour, like, adults is controlled by what they see, watch and people they socialise with. Peer pressure can lead to positive or negative attitudes. For instance, my baby watches cartoons and she enjoys the rhymes, " if you are happy and you know clap your hands", as i watched her from a distance, whenever i play that particular song, she smiles and clap her hands too. Thus, when i realised that television or music play a huge role in defining a child's character if not controlled.

In conclusion, the role played by family in shaping the youngones' behaviour outwit that of peers or media. Children learn language from the mother. Personality of a person is determined by his or her background and cultural values not social. Therefore, i agree that family still plays a vital role in child's upbringing; as they are the ones who spend much time with the youngones.