Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal of money more than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified, while others think it is unfair

Affluent sports person earn large sums of money than well recognised professions, such as doctor and engineers. Other people argue that they should not be paid more than academic professionals, while some agree it is right to do so. This essay disagrees that it is not just for sports professionals be paid more than academics. Hustles that learned professionals pass through during their educational journey will be discussed, as well as, justification for sports men and women to be paid huge sums of money.

Firstly, time consumed and financial overheads that comes with schooling can not be compared to sports. Parents and guardian spends almost all their fortune paying their children school fees, whilst the student use greater part of their time studying books to become professionals. After completion of their studies, they join the community to contribute positively and save lives. For instance, doctors spend seven years acquiring knowledge about medicine and upon completion they become part of an essential service providers, as they work anytime of the day, even without tea or lunch breaks to give life.

However, life in sports is shortened due to advancement in age or the risk that comes with sports, such as, permanent injuries. Failure for sports person to accumulate wealth in their yester years, mean they will languish in poverty , therefore they should be paid more as their life span in sports is not long. For example, David Beckham a footballer was celebrated in his active years, but now he is retired. If it had not been that he was paid well during his tenure, he could be struggling to make ends meet.

In conclusion, the overheads that comes with acquiring academic qualifications outweighs that of sports of which anyone can play and it is not an essential service but a talent, merely entertainment purpose is served by sports. Professionals, such as, doctors and engineers only to mention a few, continue to contribute to the society throughout their life time. They should be honoured and rewarded above sports professionals.