Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to teach children to be a good citizen or worker rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that almost school try to help a student to become a good inhabitant or employee instead of developing their personal skills. I completely agree with this.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why the school’s role is turning children into good members of the community. One reason is that the school is the right place to prepare the young generation a lot of essential skills to enter adult life. Studying under supervision and variety of teaching strategies, the student will be motivated to study hard to make the grade and have a good grasp of information quickly. Moreover, most of the schools offer a wide range of extra-curricular activities. Therefore, students can be easier to expand their knowledge as well as develop social skills. This helps them find it easy to integrate into society.

On the other hand, apart from these reasons expressed above, I believe that nurturing children to grow individual is the mission of family instead of school. Firstly, parents are very influential in shaping their children’s personality. For instance, Mozart, whose love of music comes from his father, is one of the greatest composers in the world. Secondly, in the family, parents can detect their offspring’s skills easily to assist them in improvement. The fact that the number of students is more than the number of teachers. For example, when I was a student, there were thirty or forty members in the class that was managed by a lecturer in my ex-class. Then, he does not have enough time as well as ability to help each other. Hence, teenagers cannot develop to the full unless family coordinate their efforts with teachers.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the numerous schools do not focus on developing individual student’s skill because it is more important for them to help their student become a good man or women.