Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether we are becoming more or less reliant on each other. Whereas there are some persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that humans have grown to be more independent.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that people often rely on each other in some respects. First of all, life is getting more complex and difficult than ever before since the cost of living is increasing dramatically, which forces a majority of parents to work harder in order to make ends meet. Accordingly, they don’t have much spare time and thus have to depend on grandparents or babysitters for childcare. On top of that, as property costs are also higher than ever, only with the aid of parents are many young people able to pay for a deposit and a mortgage.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that individuals are more self-sufficient these days. First and foremost, there has been a considerable reduction in the number of extended families over the past few years, which means that families are getting smaller and more dispersed and that people cannot count on their relatives as much as they used to. Furthermore, it is considered by many that people rely on machines rather than depend on each other. For instance, owing to technological advancements, it is more likely that we can conduct research by ourselves or look for relevant materials on the Internet instead of asking friends for help.

By way of conclusion, while there are some reasons to claim that individuals nowadays are more independent, my own viewpoint is that we are now leading more independent lives than ever.