Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by many that investment in creating technological marvels to explore space is unjustified and there are other ways to benefically allot the public budget. I mostly object to the point of view as technological applications from the journeys to space can be utilized to merit humanity, albeit they may be expensive.

The main reason I disagree is that cultivating technologies for researching space helps enhance living standards of humans. It is not uncommon for astronauts to test growth of plants in space. Given the outcomes of such experiments, plants with higher productivity and quality can be created and harnessed to improve harvests, raising humans’ quality of life accordingly.

Additionally, as living conditions on earth are deteriorating due to human and objective factors such as pollution and clamities, space exploration may hold the key to the survival of humanity in years to come. If space explorers can open the gateway to planets that are able to accommodate conditions sustaining life, when the earth becomes unhabitable people can simply migrate to those planets and continue living.

Admittedly, expenditures allocated for venturing into the cosmic seem daunting compared to spending for education and healthcare. This is rooted in the fact that the number of rockets and satellites manufactured for space missions is few. The supply chain for those equipment thus can not be optimized for cost reduction, makes it higher than the raise of teachers’ and medical workers’ salary.

In summary, I somewhat disagree with the view that investing in exploring the universe is unnecessary and spending should be diverted to educate and take care of people. As governments already pay for those priorities and when space projects succeed, the ginormous gains will compensate for the initial allocations. Even though they take large sum of resources at first, the success of the undertakings will safeguard the existence and improve the welfare of human beings.