Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ whether newly constructed houses in the local neighborhoods should reflect the old buildings' style, or they should be allowed to create their own dwellings. This essay will discuss both views of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why I am more inclined towards the latter.

On one hand, it is believed that the style of historic houses in the local districts should be the same since historic buildings are part of a country's heritage, hence, they should be protected. Moreover, they give character to cities, attract tourists, and they show us how people lived and thoughts in the past. Take Venice, for example, Venetian Gothic is the term used for the particular form of Italian Gothic architecture typical of Venice, originating in local building requirements, with some influence from Byzantine architecture, and some from Islamic architecture, reflecting Venice's trading network. Because of this, new ones should be designed to complement them.

On the other hand, it is argued that individuals should be able to design and build their own homes. Modern architecture is usually more environmentally friendly due to the fact that people have already been aware of the global warming effects. They use less energy and produce less waste as some modern glass buildings take advantage of natural light. Furthermore, individuals can show their characteristics through the designs of their houses and can make them feel more comfortable and relax while being at home with families or working at home as a freelancer.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to learn and remember about the past and old, historic architecture. However, I personally believe that the owners should be allowed to decide the way their own house will be built.