Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are opposing views regarding how new houses should be styled. While some people believe that these buildings should conform to the style set by old houses in the area, others show advocacy towards homeowners’ freedom of choice. Both views, along with my opinion, will be elaborated on in the following essay.

On one hand, there are reasons why new houses should resemble the style established by older buildings. Forefront among these is the aesthetic appeal and sense of identity similar architectural styles bring to an area. This could be seen in the case of the old quarter in Hanoi. As this two-storey housing compound gains widespread recognition for its nostalgic charm, the appearance of a towering office building in the middle of the area is unlikely to be welcome. Furthermore, if houses share the same style, they may incubate a sense of solidarity and uniformity among residents. This is because accommodation is often perceived as a status symbol; thus, having houses similar to others’ makes people more relatable in the eye of their neighbors.

On the other hand, some people contend that homeowners should build houses how they see fit. The strongest argument for this view is that people have the rights to express themselves, even in their choice of housing style. Ultimately, a house is only worth living if the owner is content with it. Moreover, old houses may fail to adhere to safety requirements. There seems to be an increasing weight of evidence to emphasize the increasing fragility and vulnerability of old houses, which makes their architectural styles less ideal to adopt in modern times.

On a balance, I agree that while people are entitled to build houses of their own style, they should contemplate the overall style of the area and ensure safety requirements are met.