Some people think that parents should not give their children expensive presents. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples based on you own experience.

Some people put forward the idea that parents should not make purchase for costly gifts for their offsprings. Despite many agreement on presenting costly gifts, I stand with the former opinion. This essay will first explain the reason why many people choose high-priced presents, then it will give the reason for my agreement with the former one.

Many parents purchase expensive presents for their children, regardless of what they may be. First of all, they believe that costly toys or clothes as gifts for children reflect their social status, which means the more expensive the presents are, the more well-off their family is. For example, instead of dashing to the nearest bakery to make purchase for a ready-made cake, some parents would try their best to throw a big costly birthday party for their children. Secondly, they go the extra miles to get the high-priced stuff for their offsprings in the belief that these presents will show the unconditional love from them to their beloved children, without knowing that this could harm the children to some extent.

On the other hand, expensive gifts do bring the children harm, which we can hardly realize right after giving the children these gifts. The first disadvantage to mention is that the children will become over-reliant on the parents, to be more precise, the costly gifts from parents. The parents keep purchasing high-priced gifts to the children, resulting in an increase the demands for more expensive presents. A prime example is that average-priced jeans can not satisfy the children who are familiar to the high-priced gifts and they will cave for another pair. That is one disadvantage, one can not forget to mention is pampering children by giving them expensive gifts would discourage the children from appreciating the effort made by their parents to get that costly item for them. As a consequence, the children grow up becoming ungrateful ones.

All in all, giving expensive gifts should be considered carefully to make sure that no unexpected consequence will happen. However, I would encourage parents to present the gifts with their heart, no matter how expensive they are.