Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

It has been a controversial topic, who should teach children social etiquette. They are the future of tomorrow, only studies won't mold them to be a good human being. Societal values also should be thaught them properly. Some people argue that, this should be thought in schools rather at home by parents. Others have an opposite opinion about this.

On one hand, people believe that schools should have the responsibility to teach children about how to be a good human being to others in addition to academic lessons. Children spent most their time at schools rather than home once they start their studies. So the teachers have more influence on them especially in todays context. For instance, if we look in to the curriculum pattern of developed countries we can find many subjects in relation to this filed. Moreover, teachers can teach social lessons at schools by showing good examples by implementing such practices in class rooms. Like giving them group projects and activities which requires each studies co-operation and co-ordination.

On the flip side of the coin, some believe that parents are the right persons to teach these kind of lessons to the children. Children always have more sentimental approach to their parents than anyone else. Therefore they will listen anything that their parents say to them. Furthermore, in every child's mind their parents are their heroes. They will automatically try to copy what their parents are doing at home. Hence, parents can teach children about social values by showing themselves as an example. Such as, recent study in Canada revealed that students who live with their grand parents and parents tend to show more respect to older people compared to children living with hostels or foster homes.

In my opinion, both parents and teachers have the same responsibility to mold a child as a good social animal. We can not put the entire responsibly on either of them, both of them have different kind influence in children. So a combined approach would be more beneficial.