Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often argued on who will take the lead on teaching younger generations to be a good citizen of the society. Rearing a child to be socially and morally upright is no simple task, a simple mistake can leave severe repercussion that may, later on, affect their lives. In my opinion, this responsibility should not be burden by parents alone, but the school should also partake in guiding young children to the right path.

At home, children often observe their parent’s actions. It is through these observations that they begin to develop their concept of what is right or wrong. Hence, it is imperative that parents be aware of their actions and the values they are imparting to their children as this will be part of the initial foundation of their moral standards.

In school, children begin to realize that they are part of a larger community. It is also here that they are subjected to other people’s influence, like their teachers and classmates. Collectively, these influences may either steer them either toward or away from the right path and without someone to guide them, things may get confusing.

It is therefore important that both parties work hand in hand to assure that children get adequate guidance to help them navigate the complexities of the moral highway. By parents establishing basic values at home complemented by the guidance provided by the school, children will better discern what is considered ethical from what is not.

In conclusion, only by working together that we can truly be assured that the next generation will become better members of their society. By building the foundation at home and complementing it with teachings from the school will help children better understand their role in a bigger community.