Some people think that young people should choose their profession themselves. Others believe that their parents should choose for them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Choosing a career is a life-changing decision and should be given some serious thoughts before making a choice. It is often argued on who should make this decision, whether to let the younger generation choose for themselves, or should parents step in and make that decision. This essay agrees with the former but will discuss both views of the argument.

Young people should be free to decide on what profession they want to pursue. Moreover, by letting them do this, we are enabling them to become more responsible and independent. It is evident that people wants different things and their choices may not always agree with their parents. But, by trusting them, we give them the opportunity to learn through their experiences that they can apply to help themselves find success and happiness. In fact, a lot of people found fame and fortune just by simply listening to what their heart’s desire and following their dreams.

However, many also believes that parents know their children better and therefore have a better idea on what career path should their child take. After all, every parent wants a bright future for their child therefore entrusting them would be the best thing to do. But, in my opinion, unless the child shares the same view, they will eventually lose interest, fail to find passion or happiness in what they are doing and regret following their parent’s advice. In fact, many students drop out or shift course primarily because of these reasons.

In conclusion, although it is true that parent by nature would want nothing but the best for their children, the later is just as able in making decisions for themselves. Nevertheless, it is always important to be true to oneself because success is not only measured in terms of monetary gain, but more importantly, by finding happiness or a sense of purpose on what you are doing.