Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

International travel made traveling and working abroad possible. Many think that these are the main reasons why we should learn a foreign language, while others argue that there are other reasons. In my opinion, learning to speak other’s language helps us understands each other and build better relationships.

The practicality of knowing a foreign language in terms of tourism and employment is obvious. For the former, it can help tourists talk to the locals to guide them find the best spots the place can offer. For those seeking to work abroad, employers often look for an applicant who speaks their language because this makes them easy to work with and able to function well in a team setting. Hence, in these settings, knowing a second language opens doors to discover exotic places and job opportunities.

However, I believe that the importance of this skill extends beyond these purposes. For example, it helps us better understand other people and their culture. Oftentimes, we only learn about this through books or videos, but, by eliminating language barrier, we can interact with different nationalities better and gain first-hand experience about their customs and traditions. Another importance of such skills is that it can help build better relationships between neighboring nations. For instance, talks about trade and peace would be easier if leaders are able to communicate using a common dialect. Hence, taking that extra step could lead to more beneficial and peaceful international ties between nations.

To conclude, the benefits of learning other’s language obviously extend beyond international travel and work. It can help us better understand other nations and their cultures which can build roads to a better relationship with neighboring nations.