Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many argue that learning a second language is only important for the purpose of traveling or working overseas, while some say that there are other reasons why one should learn a foreign language. In this essay, both opinions will be discussed.

On one hand, learning a country’s local language before going there helps travelers maneuver around the place. It is easy to get lost in a foreign land if nobody understands what you are saying. Likewise, it is also difficult to keep one’s job if one cannot converse to his or her colleagues. Hence, learning to speak like a native is very practical in these scenarios.

On the other hand, the importance of learning other people’s language beyond these purposes can also have other benefits. For instance, it shows interest to a culture not their own. By learning their language, you are able to have a deeper understanding of what their customs and traditions are, thus cultivating respect towards each other which is a foundation of building relationships. Also, misunderstanding can also be lessen brought by wrong translations, thereby decreasing risk of aggression. Lastly, if everyone is able to speak a common language, this will make transfer of information much faster and communication will be much effective.

In summary, learning a foreign language benefits travelers and overseas workers, but aside from these, it can also serve another purpose. Like bridging gaps between nations brought by different culture. It can also help us effectively communicate to other nationalities, minimizing misunderstanding and help build good relationships between other ethnicities and countries.