Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other

people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your

own opinion.

While it can not be denied that physical fitness is essential for being successful in sports, it is also true that without mental power one can not achieve the goal in any aspect including sports. It has been believed that with mental strength a person can overcome his or her external disabilities, while some others give emphasis on muscle power.

Firstly, body strength plays a significant role in how well a player perform in sports, it is also mandatory to improve physical energy to keep the higher level of performance. For that purpose a player or athlete has to go through some sort of tough skill development training. However, some have argued for mental strength over physical strength.

When it comes to sports, having psychological strength is nearly as important for players as physical fitness. Furthermore, with sports psychology- a growing field of study, more athletes are looking to improve their mental power as well as their physical exercise routine. Many sports psychologists have said that mental toughness is the ability to consistently perform toward the upper range of one's talent and skill regardless of competitive circumstances.

As we know, world sport is packed with examples of those who have come so close to glory yet mentally collapsed at the final moment. On the other hand, have some examples of those who have won the game by their profound mental strength in spite of having physical shortcomings.

From above discussion we can easily realise that, our physical capacities are often influenced by our mental factors. Though, body fitness is mandatory for sports, in my opinion mental stamina is more effective in sports for success.