Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.Choose which position you most ag

Commercial ads fill every corner in today's society. Some people suggest public schools to accept advertisements for the sake of financial benefit, while others concern about its negative impacts on children. In my opinion, to have commercials in schoolyards is advantageous for those schools lacking budgets. However, a strict selection mechanism should be set up to ensure the proper types of ads published in schools.

On the one hand, allowing businesses to have advertisements in schools benefits education financially, especially for those school boards with such tight budgets that even couldn't afford to sign paychecks on time. As we all know, the more funding is available; the more money can be spent on children. With the income from ads or donations from sponsors, schools will have more capital allocated to better facilities and equipment. Consequently, students are able to access to better educational conditions. For example, a report on People's Daily revealed a news story that happened in Shanxi Province last year. Because of the property of the local government, schools there were facing close. To save the schools, the school board had local businesses to become primary sponsors and bare their brands in the schoolyards. As a return, these businesses donated to the schools as the payments for the commercial promotions. In this case, the schools survived, and the local companies have been promoted. This mutually beneficial result proves that advertising in schools has advantages.

On the other hand, however, school administrations should set up a well-performed selection system to make sure all ads published in schoolyards are proper ones. Even though commercials can bring schools additional income, educators mush notice that not all kinds of products or services are suitable for an educational environment. For instance, products such as stationaries, books, computers or sports equipment are good choices, while luxurious cars or jewellery will be improper, not to say some specific commodities that should be kept out of the sights of children at all. Thus, schools should have strict rules on what kinds of commercials are allowed and what are not. The well-regulated ads-in-school policy is vital and effectively ensures schools with both better resources of funding and the purity of study surroundings.

To sum up, I agree that schools take commercial ads to increase available budgets. However, it is also a must for schools to have an advertisement filter system to ensure that only proper ads can be accepted.