Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the significant functions of language is to communicate with others and express oneself. Many people believe that lacking knowledge of the local language will cause serious issues in one's life when living abroad. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view since there is no way for people to adapt to a new environment without language ability.

The language barrier negatively impacts people's life. Being in a strange place, newcomers have the priority to integrate into the new neighbourhood and community. Language plays a vital role in knowing people, making friends and setting up one's social circles. Taking Canada as an example, as a traditional immigration country, the Canadian government provides each newly landed individual with free English or French classes as an essential part of their settlement plan. Statistics also indicate that the most serious issue that newcomers encounter is the language problem. An unneglectable number of new immigrants feel frustrating and self-doubted because of low language proficiency, which, as a result, leads to more conflicts in their family life and socialization. 50% of new immigrant families fell apart and got divorced in a few years after landing. The primary cause of this phenomenon is their emotional and psychological issues caused by language barriers. Therefore, it is not an exaggeration to say that language causes severe social problems.

Moreover, not knowing the language from the place where you are living also results in various practical difficulties. From ordering dishes in restaurants to competing for a position in the job market, language skills are mandatory and directly affect people's life quality. For instance, a significant number of seniors who move to Canada under the family sponsorship stream have to rely on their children or grandchildren for everyday activities such as going to groceries, banking or doctors. They became independent merely because they are living in Canada but speaking no English or French. Another example to illustrate the importance of language is in the job seeking. With strong professional competences but weak language capabilities, new immigrants usually are less competitive than other candidates who have no language problems. Consequently, newcomers frequently receive humble wages and do jobs not in their professional field at all.

To sum up, lacking the ability of languages of where people are living in always leads to socially and practically unneglectable issues. I firmly believe that eliminating the language barrier is a must in peoples' integration and adaptation into a new country.