In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food,clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Historically human beings relied on animals for meat resources and clothing purposes. With the emerge of modern science, animals are also used for medical tests. Some people consider that highly developed technologies should release animals from the human demands of food, clothing and medicine. In my point of view, I partially agree with this opinion. Animals might become unnecessary for human clothing purposes. However, they are still essential in fulfilling our food and medical requirements.

Modern technology makes animals less important in providing clothing materials. In the past, people had no other choice but to derive some specific raw materials from animal skins, such as leather, wool or fur. Nevertheless, nowadays, artificial materials are so developed that completely replace the natural ones with better quality and lower costs. In this case, it is not necessary to use animals for the purpose of clothing. For example, the public tends to choose man-made leather or synthetic fur instead of real ones because they are more various in options and economical in prices. Furthermore, to avoid consuming the clothing and accessories made from animal parts also positively contributes to environmental protection. Hence, animals are innecessary and no longer required for human clothing needs.

On the other hand, animals are vital in the aspects of meat supply and medical research. Unlike animal hair or skins, which are not crucial for modern life, their meats are still irreplaceable as a nutrition provider. As we all know, only animal meats contain specific vitamins, elements and proteins that are primary for human health. Even synthetic heath-care medicines have to derive these nutritions from live animals. Moreover, animal tests are inevitable in medical researches. With 97% of the same DNA as human beings, animals are the only choice to ensure the safety of the newly developed medicines before they are applied to human beings. Scientific developments make lots of things possible, but in terms of food and medicine, humans still heavily depend on natural resources, including animals.

To sum up, in modern society, although people's dependence on animals for clothing diminishes, animals remain their importance and necessity in food supply and medical researches.