Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is always a controversial debate on subjects that should be emphasized by educators. Some advocate history, while others vote for science and technology. In my opinion, both these pieces of knowledge are equally essential and necessary so that none of them should be neglected.

History is crucial in increasing students' recognition of their home country and cultivating their sense of national pride. By learning the origin of one's own culture and knowing its contributions to the world, the younger generation would generate a feeling of national confidence from the bottom of their hearts. Consequently, they will take responsibility for developing and constructing the country. An excellent example to illustrate this point is the "Han Study" that widely taught in Chinese elementary and secondary schools. "Han Study" is a part of the history subject taught in China, which introduces specific origin, culture and civilization of Han people, the dominant nation in China. Via learning the history of the Han people, children understand better the spirits of Chinese culture and the marvellous civilization created by their ancestors, thereby, develop higher culture recognition and nation confidence. Therefore, history is a subject that shouldn't be ignored in school education.

Similarly, science and technology are also vital in schooling. If history represents the past, then science is a must for students to learn for their future. With the rapid development of technology, the more hi-tech a country masters, the stronger and more competitive a country will be. Teaching science and technology prepares youth ready for this digital world. As a return, these well-equipped young talents will promote the country's development in the future. A statistic figure from the Department of Education of China reveals that the annual budget allocated on scientific equipment and labs in schools for grade 3 to grade 12 students increased 100% in the past five years. Chinese students also won frequently in world-class technical competitions such as Roberts or model airplanes. Thus, science is an essential subject in educating children about technologies.

To sum up, even though history and science are completely different courses, both of them are necessary to cultivate children into useful adults who can contribute to their own home country.