Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on the value of subjects in school curriculum. While some believe that History plays a role of paramount importance, other assess that in modern times, it is eclipsed by subjects related to Science and Technology. This essay aims to weigh in both perspectives and present my personal account.

On one hand, there are sound reasons why studying about historical figures and events of the past is still relevant. Firstly, learning History can help nurture a wide range of moral values in students and influence their outlook on life. For example, through lessons about the war in Vietnam, teachers can inspire young learners with a sense of patriotism, valor and instill in their mind the value of peace so that they will learn not to support wars waged because of greed. Secondly, reflecting upon lifestyles of the past may also enable schoolgoers to systematically develop their own vision of a better life people should strive for. For instance, learning about the feudal system and notions of gender roles in the era may entice female students to understand and in the future, fight for a society where gender equality is a norm, not an exception.

On the other hand, it is true that subjects oriented towards science and technology bring about undeniable benefits. To begin with, such subjects teach and inspire learners to work methodically while still fostering their creativity and their sense of identity. A good example here is when students do Chemistry labs, although they are required to follow specific safety rules and certain sets of procedures, when it comes to proposing the explanation, they are allowed to suggest their own hypothesis, which will be carefully revised by all members of the class before the correct answer is given. In addition, as technology is now nigh-omnipresent, it is crucial that students acquire essential skills and knowledge about this field in order to function properly in the modern world. For instance, most secondary school students in Vietnam are taught how to use searching engines like Google to practice retrieving and filtering information while doing their assignments.

In conclusion, I am convinced that both History and Science and Technology are integral to the modern education as they play different, yet irreplaceable roles in shaping a modern citizen with specific qualities.