Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. The say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

As an effective way to decrease pollution and lower the cost of raw materials, recycling has always been encouraged. Some people believe that the government should implement laws to request people to recycle more domestic wastes. In my opinion, a city bylaw impacts recycling positively.

Firstly, to make a legal requirement for recycling provides people with a clear idea of what and how to recycle. Most residents have no problem to deal with those apparent items such as plastic bottles and cardboard, but once there are articles that are hard to identify or troublesome to classify, they tend not to bother and throw everything into the garbage can directly. Regulations can prevent this kind of behaviour. Taking Shanghai as an example, the government published bylaws with detailed instructions to regulate what and how to recycle. After a short period of adaptation, residents follow the rules to complete daily waste classification and reuse, and as a result, the waste dealing situation has been dramatically improved in Shanghai. Consequently, many other cities in China start to make their own bylaws for recycling.

Secondly, a piece of legislation allows legal punishment and fines to those who break the law, which can financially force people to recycle and support the city's recycling system. To avoid loss of money, residents would try best to follow the instructions and recycle life wastes. Meanwhile, all money collected from the fines goes to the construction and renovation of household disposal facilities, which in return, benefit people again. Still taking Shanghai as an example, because of the fines collected from those who didn't obey recycling bylaws, the city has more budget to construct a new recycling center. With time passing by, residents gain a good habit of recycling, and the city has a better waste disposal system.

To sum up, I strongly support the view that the government should issue laws to request people in recycling matters legally. It is advantageous and necessary in the aspects of lawfully instructing residents and financially supporting the recycling system.