Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is imp

Should we give children enough freedom to make decisions for themselves? Different people have different opinions. Some say yes, while others object because they believe freedom on choices will make children selfish persons. In my point of view, I agree with the former because allowing children to choose for themselves will cultivate their critical thinking and independence.

First of all, learning to make decisions is a necessary means of developing critical thinking for children. Even simple decisions like what to take as dinner will give them good practice to think about their preferences and the accessibility of the food. Gradually, they will learn how to make a compromise and balance the needs and availability. This is a vivid method to let children understand when to make reasonable requests and when to give up. For instance, parents can let younger children choose from either a piece of cake or an extra 30-minute playing time. Both choices are acceptable since the key point is to train children to weigh and balance their desires. An interesting survey done by a Chinese educational organization indicates that compared to those who always follow parents' instructions, children having more chances to make their own decisions are smarter and have better empathy because they are trained to consider and solve issues critically.

Secondly, decision making develops children's independence on their way of growing up. Parents can offer suggestions when there is a necessity; however, it is still the child to select for himself independently. Knowing that they cannot rely on anybody else for choice choosing, children will be more careful with every single decision since they have to be responsible for themselves. In this case, independence is cultivated effectively. For example, a top-rated Chinese TV show named "Where is Daddy" proved this theory. All guests in the show are pairs of father and kid. Fathers are required not to help their children in any decisions for seven days, while children are asked to complete various tasks in the meantime. It is impressive and touching for the audience to observe how these children become mature, responsible and reliable via making decisions independently.

To sum up, I strongly believe that encouraging more freedom to children on self-decision making can help them with not only critical thinking but also becoming independent.