Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t.Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to that of athletes and their impact to adolescents. While some people believe that sport persons are efficient role models, some others feel the oppose. In the following essay I would shade some light on both these views and then give my opinion on the matter.

Since the ancient age people adore athletes, their physique, performance and passion. Athletes are the prime example of a generally known true that everything is possible. Every day professional sport persons breaking world records and pushing barriers even further. Pupils and teenagers in this modern era, who are more likely playing computer games or drinking alcohol could be encourage to performing a sport activity and follow their icons. For instance, my friend who have been obese in primary school adored watching swimming at Olympic games. Followed his icon Micheal Phelps, he become a professional swimmer and won many competitions.

On the other hand, with everywhere increasing impact of social media, professional athletes more often represent not only sport, but also commercial products. As far as young generation follow their sport stars, chance of purchasing unnecessary goods, which their favourite sport person represent is very high. For example, in Spain, after commercial advertise with Christian Ronaldo drinking Coca-Cola, sales rapidly increased and sold out the stock in many parts in Spain.

To sum up, publicly known sport individuals might encourage young generation to perform any kind of sport activity, however, they could also negatively impact them by representing commercial products. In my opinion, I believe that professional athletes have a positive impact to young generation and their public presence and performance outweigh drawbacks.