SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT RADIO HAS BECOME OUT-OF-DATE, AND THERE IS NO NEED TO LISTEN TO THE RADIO FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND NEWS. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Radio is losing its popularity these days, and many people question the practical usefulness of this medium. I tend to agree that radio is not as attractive as other mass communication media, yet I still believe that there is a demand for radio news and entertainment programmes among certain individuals.

The majority of people give their preference to the Internet or TV when they want to find out about current affairs. These two media sources disseminate news providing the audience with accurate data while radio supplies the information briefly in most cases. If traders or investors, for example, need visual statistics of what is happening in the global market today, they certainly opt for the Internet or TV as radio cannot provide them with the detailed data of the commercial sector.

In addition, radio stations can entertain people in a limited number of ways such as broadcasting talk shows with celebrities or quizzes with listeners. The Internet and TV, on the other hand, can amuse their users in numerous ways. People can download and watch TV series, documentaries, and sports events which give them more satisfaction compared to radio programmes. For these reasons, radio is believed by many to have had its day.

However, there are some professions like taxi drivers or hairdressers who still find radio attractive and informative. Since TV and the Internet can distract them from their work, they choose radio instead and tend to listen to it during their working hours.

To conclude, the ratings of radio are noticeably declining, but I am confident that there are some people for whom it remains an indispensable part of their daily life.