Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe
that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
While some people argue that we should emphasize the importance of competition when
teaching children, others take the view that focusing on cooperation is more important. In my
opinion, it is better for children to be taught to cooperate.
On one side of the argument, there are people who hold the opinion that encouraging
competitiveness in children will yield better results. The most compelling reason for believing
this is that competitiveness prepares them for life in the real world. When students grow up,
they will need to compete with other students for a place in university. Furthermore, there’s
no doubt that in the job market, people will be competing with many others to get a good job.
Another reason is that this encourages them to excel in everything they do. When there’s
competition, everyone is challenged to do their best. For example, if there’s a prize for the
student with the highest marks in a particular subject, every student will be motivated to do
his or her best. This encourages growth and the pursuit of excellence.
Despite the above arguments, I am of the view that instilling a sense of cooperation in
children will prove more beneficial. Indeed, one reason why I take this position is that in
many instances, winning is not everything. A society focused solely on winning and
competing ignores other important traits like compassion and generosity. Such traits are
important for a proper functioning of society. Furthermore, it is my opinion that achieving
one’s goal often requires the ability to cooperate, rather than compete, with others. In society
and work, cooperation and teamwork is often required. For instance, a company will only
achieve its overall goal if all parts work together and complement each other.
In conclusion, while both views are commonly held in society, I believe that cooperation is a
more important value. This is because children need to understand that winning against
another is not the most important thing and that cooperation often enables them to achieve
their goals. Given this situation, it is recommended that schools should put more effort into
promoting teamwork activities.