Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, there are individuals who argue that the nature of competition should be promoted in early childhood while there are some who advocate nurturing a more cooperative mindset in order to grow up as a well-rounded person. This essay will be providing both perspectives, followed by my own.

Without a doubt, people are primarily competitive creatures that consequence clashes between tribes and the World Wars. Hence, it is advisable to encourage a characteristic of being competitive only if it is a healthy approach, which is competing with one's own self. By practicing youngsters to assume 'today 'me' is better than that of yesterday', the child will gradually improve self-awareness in detecting the weaknesses and strengthening the abilities to become a more efficient person. Healthy competition is certainly beneficial which also prohibits the tendency to turn into hatred or jealousy to the other rivals. For instance, the young athletes who review both tape records of their own performance and their counterparts are likely to do better performance in the coming attempts than those who only look for other people's weaknesses and try to take advantage of them. Therefore, competitiveness can actually bring a positive impact to the children if the message is delivered correctly since the concept is notorious for its disadvantages.

On the other hand, if the shadow side of human nature is competitiveness, the bright side would be the cooperative mindset. The success of the contemporary days is the result of the long-term cooperation among the stakeholders. To cite an example, more people got vaccinated for the Covid 19 due to the collaborative approach of developed countries that had invented multiple vaccines for the disease. Witnessing how much cooperation brings a great impact globally, it is crucial for young individuals to develop a mindset of cooperation.

To conclude, it is advisable that both arguments are equally important for the development of the children in different ways, keeping in mind that the first approach should be conducted in a more cautious way.