Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged, others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

A few individual assume that competitive spirit should be inculcated in young people while, others are of the opinion that young ones who are taught cooperation instead of competition becomes responsible adults. This essay agrees that children who are taught cooperation instead of competition becomes responsible adults in the society.

To begin,those who support a sense of competition amongst children believe that it imbibe autonomous power to strive beyond all odds. This is because, they would want to remain the best therefore, they will do everything within their power to get to the top. For example, I recently interviewed a high school student on the reason he prefers to study alone, he responded that, he is striving to be the best in his class therefore, would not want to be distracted by other students. This example support the above assertion.

On the other hand, those who support cooperation among children are of the opinion that it breeds interpersonal relationship between children. More so, they also assert that it makes kids to work together and share common ideas. Further and even more importantly, they feel that it breeds out selfishness from kids as they strive not only for their future success but that of others as well . For example, a famous doctor was recently interviewed on national television on why he likes sharing his knowledge with upcoming medical doctors, he responded that from infancy he was instructed to work with others as a team in all areas of life. This instance support the above assertion that cooperation makes youngsters to become responsible adults.

In conclusion, while they are convincing argument on both sides of the debate as to whether to encourage competition or cooperation amongst children, I believe that cooperative attitude should be built up in children for positive upbringing.