Some people think that economic development is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others argue that economic development is damaging the environment and needs to stop. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some intellectuals argue that economic growth curbs hunger and poverty. whereas, others say that it has negative impact on the environment and should be stopped. While Economic development put an end to penury and starvation, however, I believe that economic growth should be discontinued because of the effect of industrialisation on the ecosystem.

On one hand, those who view the growth of the economy as a means of eradicating hunger and poverty feel it create jobs to citizens. It is an indisputable fact that majority of the the people residing in developed nations are free from impoverishment due to the availability and accessibility of industries, finance and material resources to meet ends. The United Kingdom is a typical example, because of its massive economic growth, it does not only provide employment for its citizens alone, but also make provision for immigrants from developing countries. Additionally, supporters of this idea also assume that those with extreme age; elderly and children are well taken care of in nations with good economic growth.

On the other hand, opponents of good economy including myself believe that it is detrimental to the ecosystem because of the effect of industrialisation on the environment. The fumes and waste produced in the oil and gas and aviation industry constitute nuisance to the earth, depletion of Ozone layer, noise and air pollution and the destruction of aquatic lives. Furthermore, there is the problem of deforestation and extinction of wildlife. Recently, i read on Daily Sun Newspaper that a research was conducted by the National Geography Wild in 2018, and it was estimated that in the next 20 years some species of Hippopotamus and Elephant would be completely eradicated due to bush burning.

In conclusion, they are diverse views on economic growth, although, myriads of people feel it improve the standard of living, In my opinion, I believe that economic development destroys the Ozone layer and wildlife, therefore, it should be discontinued.