Some people think that shool should select students acording to their academic abilities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no doubt that schools have played an important role in the societies' education for a long time. While some believe that school should categorize students based on their academic performances, others do not. However, it is a fact that this trend would bring not only certain benefits but also some unavoidable drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is evident that this new educational approach would create several advantages. Firstly, students who have the similar intellectual background will have the corresponding pace of advancement in study skills; therefore, mentors and professors will have no difficulty in evaluating students' abilities. They can then conduct suitable lectures due to the students' needs and capacities. Better individual attention is another plus point of this trend. It goes without saying that higher standard students can pick up the lessons within a shorter time compared to other students. As a result, teachers would enhance these students' learning process efficiently and encourage them to keep moving forward.

On the other hand, there are some obvious downside that would arise from this kind of ability grouping instruction. It is undeniable that a unique talent is often a randomly discovered one. A mixed-ability class will give the tutors chances to find out the hidden talented scholars. Moreover, working in a diverse intellectual environment can facilitate social interactions among students. It promotes greater contact, support, self-confidence and cooperative skills. Last but not least, peer pressure is also a major minus point of this method. Lower-level students definitely find it embarrassing and exhausting to catch up with the higher-level students. Consequently, they will be discouraged and have worse learning outcomes.

In conclusion, this controversial development causes both pros and cons. Some positive impact on students' selection according to academic abilities such as better teaching quality are irrefutable. Meanwhile, the possibility of missing talents and massive stress from mates are two weaknesses that should be taken into account.