Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the internet era, the existence of networking sites is unavoidable. Plus, the plague forces people to stay at home, which is a huge change for social media to grow dramatically. As a result, some people believe that these sites have a negative impact on the community and several people. But, my belief is the opposite. Social networking sites have good or bad depending on the users, then why do so many people have prejudice about the internet?

The first thing that comes to my mind is internet security and crime. It is easy to find out some cases as scams, blackmail or even murder through social sites. Although there are tons of security steps, users who do not follow all steps are too innocent to realize the crime. Coming with this irresponsible is a lack of time awareness. Moreover, many people get lost in social media and spend all their time surfing the internet. But both of these problems can be easily solved by increasing people’s awareness and exploiting the internet’s positive side. So, what can the internet bring back to the community in general and users in particular?

The first is knowledge. By using the internet, users can access plenty of information to research and learn. Thanks to Covid-19, the student and worker have more time to build up their soft skills and bodies, learn geometry, human behaviour and maybe even quantum physics. Secondly, social media helps to erase the distance in communication. Nowadays, by using the internet, people can talk, chat or discuss through space. Taking my brother, who is in America, as an example, we can call video and talk together anytime, and the voice and image transfer almost immediately. As a result, society can develop rapidly by only using the shared information function of social media.

Last but not least is marketing. Marketing plays an important part in the economy, which impacts directly on society. Social networking sites have brought up marketing to a new level and changed to digital marketing.

In short, although there are few opposing sides of social media because of users, the positives of social networking sites contribute a lot for both society and individuals.