Some people think spending on arts is a waste of money rather than a budget should be diverted to other public services. Do you agree or disagree?

Arts play an indispensable role in depicting the culture and tradition of the country. Expenditure on artistic activities is considered as an act of squandering by a group of individuals. I agree with the notion and believe that funds should be diverted to the other factors such as health care, transport, education but not on the cost of arts.

There are ample reasons why the government should diversify the budget towards the other developments. First and foremost reason is inefficient public services. To explain it further, developing cities need efficient transport system, modern education, and world-class health care to improve the quality of life. A financial crisis is the second reason on which the government should ponder upon. Non-availability of funds has forced many organizations to give pink slips to their employees. For instance, A recent example of Jet airways which closed down its operations due to bankruptcy. Hence, diversifying funds on other factors can aid in improving the standard of living as well as burgeoning economic growth.

Nevertheless, financing arts too is essential. Different forms of art can attract tourists from across the world which in turn can assist in boosting the economy. Travelers who admire the beauty of arts flock to take a glimpse; consequently, helping in generating revenue for the economy. Another predominant thought for allocating funds for arts is it generates employment. Different art based-activities such as singing, dancing, music, theatre employ huge number of people to make it successful. Therefore to promote tourism and to create jobs opportunities it is necessary that some funds be allocated in favor of arts.

To recapitulate, although diversification of funds towards the other factors is imperative, arts should also be given some importance for the benefit of the society.