Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that the question of whether to spend time for taking up and preparing the food science or essential subjects remains a source of controversy in education field. While a number of people believe that school time should be allocated for food science, I would argue that it is imperative to spend time on important subjects.

On the one hand, a section of individuals thinks that food science can benefit pupils for some reasons. First, since this subject teaches them to analyze food constituents, as well as understanding the chemistry of food components, such as protein, carbohydrates ,.. they will better manage their diet. For instance, a diabetic person can learn to avoid food with high sugar content and get nutrients from other products. The second benefit is that it provides students with hands-on experience instead of just theories. For example, they can apply knowledge to calculate the calories in their daily meals which leads to a healthy and independent lifestyle.

On the other hand, apart from food science, a wide range of natural science, social science and language subjects pave the way for students to acquire comprehensive skills and preparation. As a matter of fact, school curriculum has been modified and designed cautiously by experts in order to reach the ultimate educational efficiency, repudiating the whole suspection of its ability. Furthermore, the modern world imposes stricter qualities for a global citizen, which means one getting access to several areas may take advantages over others. Moreover, in the case of his indifference to food science, he can earn his stable income thanks to other streams of study rather than food science program.

In conclusion, although food science is undoubtedly significant at school, time management should be kept in order to balance with other subjects, as a person of success must be prepared for manifold real-life cases and challenges from all areas, not only food science.