Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that with the aid of transportation advancements, It is now possible for many nations to import food from all over the world. While the volume of such imports has increased over the recent years, I would argue that this trend has more disadvantages than advantages.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some positive aspects of importing food. Many countries need to import food in order to feed their population. Their land may be poor for growing crops, with the deserts or mountainous regions. Another factor that drives countries to import food is climate, in the case of prolonged droughts and excessive cold. Other countries, however, simply import food to satisfy the tastes of consumers. It is, for example, pleasant to eat tropical fruit or eat rice during a European cold winter, even though such food has to be imported from thousands of miles away.

On the other hand, considering the ecological crisis facing the world today, the arguments against large-scale of imports food are overwhelming. Firstly, in order to reduce their carbon footprint and reduce their reliance on fossil fuels. Countries need to seek to limit the number of food miles required to provide their people with a healthier diet. Dependence on freight services to transport food all over the world simply increases global warming. Secondly, food which has to be imported is not fresh. It is often treated with chemical preservatives or genetically modified in order to extend its shelf life. This is damaging in terms of health and the environment.

In conclusion, I believe that the trend towards the imports of a large amount of food is, despite its advantages, a negative trend which is contributing to environmental degradation.