People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What can be done to make people drink less?

These days, an increasing number of sugar-based drinks consumed has been one of the fiercely debated issues. Although this trend can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this.

There are two major reasons why people in this day and age tend to favor sugar-based drinks. The first reason is due to the changing lifestyle adopting to modern culture. This can be explained by the fact that people nowadays are likely to have fast foods with soft drinks, which is convenient for their living way. Second, the increased consumption of sugar-based drinks is linked to consumers’ lack of awareness and knowledge of a healthy diet. That is why people prefer nutrient-poor foods which include sugar-based drinks such as Coke or Pepsi.

However, there are a number of viable solutions to deal with this problem. One of these solutions is that government can impose a higher tax on the production and contribution of sugar-based drinks, which inevitably increases their price. Consequently, the usages of such drinks will be declined in many manners. Furthermore, there should be more educational propagation campaigns. If people are aware of side effects and health problems related to the increase of intake sugar such as Diabetes Mellitus, they will reduce consuming sugar-based drinks for their health benefits.

In conclusion, the problem of people having more and more sugar-based drinks is caused by a number of factors as discussed in the essay. Increasing taxes on sugar-based drinks and running propagation campaigns to raise consumers’ awareness of their health are two feasible solutions to combat such problem.