The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the aid of technology advancing at the speed of light, it is now possible for society to communicate through social platforms instead of in-person interaction. This essay attempt to shed light on both the merits end demerits of this tendency before concluding that the latter is more significant.

On the one hand, using social networks to communicate is advantageous to some extent. Firstly, Social media platforms facilitate communications in modern times, as people now can globally connect with their peers, relatives, or others who share common interests. For example, Facebook is currently providing services to over 2.4 million users who can choose to connect or interact with anyone regardless of time and distance. Second, students around the world can have free access to online classes on social networks. It can be explained by the fact that study sessions in this day and age are frequently happening on social networking through live streaming services such as Zoom or Google Meet.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the positive aspects of this trend are eclipsed by its drawbacks. To begin with, people can easily get entangled and fall prey to online communication abuse such as cyberbullying or harassment. Social platforms can become a toxic environment where uses can verbally be assaulted since there are a few rules, most of which are spoken rules rather than established guidelines, that restrict hateful or abusive content, embarrassing pictures, disclosing personal information. Furthermore, the extensive use of social networks will diminish society's ability to interact face-to-face. In fact, young and reclusive people at this juncture prefer living in the virtual world on social sites to real-life relationships which lead to increased mental problems such as anxiety, stress, and loneliness as a result.

In conclusion, While it is irrefutable that getting in touch through online platforms has considerate benefits in some ways, I would contend that the downsides of this development are more significant than the benefits users could reap from those sites.