The use of social media is replacing face to face interactions among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Social media has gained a lot of popularity over the last decade. Everyone has access to social media through their phones. The use of social media has replaced face to face interactions among many people. This essay will discuss if the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages.

There are many advantages to using social media. One such advantage is that people can converse with their loved ones who live in a different state or country through social media whenever they want to. For example, if there is a family member or friend that is ill, social media can be used to inform loved ones who aren’t living nearby. This information reaching them immediately and will allow them time to book tickets to come and see their loved ones.

Accompanying the advantages are also certain disadvantages. Due to the ease of being able to converse with family members or friends, people have stopped prioritising meeting their loved ones face to face. For example, before social media became so widely used, people used to go to visit friends and family over weekends. That practice has reduced in popularity over the last decade. People usually travel to visit their loved ones only if there is an emergency or if there is an event.

The increase in the use of social media has many advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because social media brings people closer together by allowing them to stay in contact with each other at all times. However, people must realise that conversing through social media isn’t a replacement of them meeting face to face but is a blessing allowing them to be connected even if they are miles apart.