The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Technology has reached unfathomable heights with innovations that make life easier. Social media has become one such platform to interact with people in the society rather than an in-person meeting.These next two paragraphs will talk about the advantages and disadvantages of social media replacing face-to-face interactions and its effects

The growth of social media has led to the creation of virtual communication , which means a way in which people can communicate through the internet. This has revolutionised meetings as the person doesn’t need to be available in the same place or time to be able to interact with others. An example for this is video calling a friend or a relative who is in a different country and maintaining contact with them without actually going and visiting them often through texts and calls

Alternatively , excessive time spent on social media also leads to a flurry of problems especially for the younger generation. Monotonous content is consumed on a daily basis by teenagers and they would much rather spend time on their phones than doing productive work. For example , children spend most of their time on their phones , instead of playing outdoor games with other children and staying active , that leads to them becoming lazy and anti-social and leading a withdrawn lifestyle. This will affect them in the future as they lack basic survival skills and street-smartness

In conclusion , there are numerous advantages to the existence of social media as much as disadvantages given the criteria being mentioned but in my opinion , the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as it affect the social life of children drastically leading them to an unrealistic view on life and being withdrawn from other interactions.