A common marketing strategy for big companies is to introduce various offers and discounts.
However, these strategies may have an impact on their reputation. What are some of the
impacts?
Big marketing companies share the strategy of various offers and discounts to improve sales and
make a deeper mark on the markets and the consumer. These strategies impact the companies on
various which I will be discussing in the following paragraphs.
Firstly the companies come up with various strategies such as ads marketing through social media
channels such as YouTube and Instagram to market their products, to get a stronger customer base of
various age groups. For e.g. Beauty product marketers target customers of different age groups to
make stronger sales, using doctors or social media influencers also through give away for free as a trial
products to give positive reviews about their products.
Secondly, companies have to sell their products at higher costs to cover their manufacturing and
production costs also frequent discounts can market their products as the low cap or cheap. For e.g.
companies that sell products such as jute or leather bags give a margin of more than 50%,
consumers might assume them as low quality, sub-standard products. If the products sell at constant
discounted rates then they will never penetrate the market or make a mark on customers' minds.
In conclusion, marketing discounts are a good strategy, during seasonal sales or when
competitors are penetrating the market. Strategic right timing is always a better option any day.
Customers have become smart over a period of time with a wide variety of choices and products to
choose from, henceforth it’s a dire need that companies understand where they stand from
the consumer's point of view through surveys. It would help them to have a clear understanding of when to
market their products.