HAS THE MEDIA PAID TOO MUCH ATTENTION TO CELEBRITIES?

Media, for the longest time, has covered stories about celebrities as means to attract viewership. If we had to answer the question, “Has the media paid too much attention to celebrities?”My answer would be a yes. I am inclined to believe that the media has given too much attention to celebrities through negative as well as positive ways. Let us discuss the same in the following paragraph.

Celebrities as public figures have been subjected to the judgement of the public and the media on their personal life and their career trajectory. Media tend to pay too much attention to a celebrity’s life, especially personal matters and this tends to make a false narrative in two ways. The celebrity will either be glamorised or villianised to an extent where they are scrutinised at every part of their life. I would like to bring up the British royal family as an example, where the family’s lives have been glamorised or villainized to an extent, which in turn makes them susceptible to media and public’s scrutiny.

Furthermore, Paparazzi is another form of media that takes unsolicited pictures of celebrities for tabloid articles. Thus, totally disregarding the celebrity’s privacy and not taking into consideration that they are normal people with normal lives. This type of media coverage, though being considered a crime, still exists today.Therefore, the celebrities are at a vulnerable place and affecting their mental health. One of the recent examples for the issue at hand is Britney Spears. The American singer had to go through mental therapy and rehabilitation after being gone through intense media scrutiny and faced negativity all through her career.

Thus, in conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the media does pay too much attention to celebrities and their personal lives. The celebrities are put through intense media scrutiny with disregard to their privacy. Thus, affecting their mental health along the way.