Children should do organized activities in their free time while others believe children should be free to do what they want. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that there are conflicting views about children’s use of free time. Although it can be said that it is better to supervise children’s activities during their free time, I would advocate leaving them completely free.

Granted, participating in organized group activities is certainly beneficial for children. First, it is safe for children to participate in these activities because they are closely supervised. Second, by participating in group activities, children can acquire the skills they need to take on a social role in the community, such as team spirit and cooperation. For example, when children play a sport like soccer or cricket, they learn the importance of teamwork to achieve a common goal. These activities also boost children’s self-confidence and interpersonal skills.

On the other hand, children should be able to choose their leisure activities independently. First of all, this improves decision-making skills. This means that when children play games that may seem silly to us, they are actually practicing their ability to choose between different options. As they play, they independently practice their decision-making skills, which will further improve their ability to make decisions. In addition, by participating in activities that have engaged them, children can discover their own interests and even life passions. Without the structure of pre-planned events, activities, or lessons, children will inevitably have experiences and, more importantly, find ways to overcome boredom. What they do then could be something they fall in love with for a lifetime.

In conclusion, I agree with those who argue that children should occupy themselves in their free time.