Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is true that the question of whether organizing international sports events has benefits or not remains a source of controversy. While a number of people believe that such events pose a negative influence, I would argue that hosting these events is beneficial to a country.

On the one hand, a section of individuals thinks that an international sports competition would induce some serious problems in the host country. One of the evident problems is that the government needs to build new or renovate existing sports facilities, which means that they have to spend a huge sum of money on such investments. Consequently, other vital sectors like public health and education may suffer from a shortage of income for their development. Furthermore, when the tournament is being held, tourists from all over the world will flock to the host country. The massive movement might threaten national security as some terrorists or criminals might come to the country for illegal purposes.

On the other hand, I believe that the option to organize an international sports competition is attractive for some reasons. First, Since many reporters, spectators, etc will travel across the border to witness the moment, it gives a novel opportunity for the nation to boost the tourism sector and become a popular destination even long after the competition has concluded. Second, by building infrastructure to host an event of such a scale, it leads to massive construction work. This means that it gives employment to the poor as well-skilled people, which in turn leads to a boom in the economy.

In conclusion, while hosting an international sports competition offers certain drawbacks, I completely agree with those who believe that hosting international sporting events is beneficial to the country.